NaPoWriMo Day 26

NaPoWriMo Badge

COOL APRIL

It’s a cool April
The cold’s departure brings
The lovely budding blossoms as we feel the warmth of spring.

It’s a cool April
The sequester took effect.
Still there are opportunities despite our nation’s debt.

It’s a cool April
And people’s jobs are gone.
Somehow we’ll find the cash to pay the guy who cuts the lawn.

It’s a cool April
Our flights would be delayed
But President Obama intervened to cut the wait.

It’s a cool April
A month of tragedy.
Midst the worst we see the best parts of humanity.

It’s a cool April
Some lives and limbs are gone.
But everyone throughout the land says “We are Boston Strong!”

It’s a cool April
A month of Poetry
With daily poems composed and shared by poets just like me.

It’s a cool April
With coolness everyday
And if our April was this cool, let’s have a cooler May!

by Cheryl Crockett
Inspired by +Jessica Baehr

Back to Cheryl’s NaPoWriMo 2013 Main Post

My daily haiku is below. I am writing one haiku daily for a year, but I prefer to do NaPoWriMo in addition to this project. So, my haiku will not serve as NaPoWriMo. Please read and enjoy my haiku below.

Haiku #120

Climbing the mountain
I don’t know what I will find.
God beyond the clouds?

by Cheryl Crockett

Please read my blog post “Acceptable Opportunism” in support of legislation to provide insurance coverage for amputees’ prosthetic refits (in states where only the first prosthesis is covered). In the seven days since I wrote this article, it has had so many readers, it has exceeded all my NaPoWriMo poems combined (written to date). One of the readers’ responses just broke my heart, but it is a real life example of the problem.

See Cheryl’s Everyday Haiku 2013

Explore posts in the same categories: NaPoWriMo, Poetry

One Comment on “NaPoWriMo Day 26”


Leave a Reply

