NaPoWriMo Day 21

NaPoWriMo Badge

THAT’S WHAT YOU THOUGHT

Oh, I get it now!

You thought
that the terrorists
would evade capture
for weeks, months
or even years
(like the last time)
But it only took days.

You thought
You could post your
unfounded allegations
accusing a nameless,
faceless,
religion-less
and otherwise
unidentified
monster

but somehow
you knew
the color.

You thought
You could fan
the flames and fears of
the fragile and fickle,
risking the arrest
of innocents,
not to mention
wasting everyone’s time
including that of those
who were looking
for the real ones.

And they
caught them
faster than ‘
you thought.

Surprise!
There was no match
to your description.
That’s because
the profile has
no visible indicators.

What you missed
was that intangible
inner quality
that travels beyond
bones and blood
beneath the skin,
skirting synapses,
moving from marrow
to mind, motivating
the heart
and hands.

It can be detected only
through the actions of those
who possess it.

I just spoke
with the FBI
and gave them
your description.

by Cheryl Crockett
“The Lord does not look at the things people look at.
People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord
looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7 (NIV)

Inspired by Reynaldo Macias (@reythejedi on Twitter)

I am behind and many days have gone by without me posting my NaPoWriMo poems. To get my momentum back, I had to go (and “PO”) where I was inspired. The poet referenced above shared a poem with me on Twitter (by tweeting his link with my Twitter name “@poetatete”) and I was very inspired. “THAT’S WHAT YOU THOUGHT” is my reply to his poem “The bombers are white”.

Although I chose not to use the Day 21 Challenge as it appears on napowrimo.net, I want to attempt it in the future:

“…re-write Frank O’Hara’s Lines for the Fortune Cookies. When I was a kid, I found a fortune cookie recipe, and made the cookies, which were pretty good. But mostly I was attracted to the idea of writing the fortunes. Unfortunately (rimshot, here), I wrote such long ones that they were very difficult to fold up small enough to fit into the cookies! Hopefully, you won’t have that problem — after all, the ideal fortune is a one-liner, and one-liners thrive on a very poetic compactness of expression. This should be a good chance for all of us to practice that, and amusing to boot. Happy writing!”

Back to Cheryl’s NaPoWriMo 2013 Main Post

My daily haiku is below. Even though I am writing one haiku daily for a year, I am trying to do NaPoWriMo in addition to this project. I did not want my haiku to serve as NaPoWriMo,
so, please read and enjoy my haiku below and the extra links I added.

Haiku #115

Bullet holes are filled
Windows, cars and boats replaced
Before limbs grow back.

by Cheryl Crockett
Please read my related blog post “Acceptable Opportunism”.

See Cheryl’s Everyday Haiku 2013

Explore posts in the same categories: NaPoWriMo, Poetry

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “NaPoWriMo Day 21”

  1. seekingmeme Says:

    A fitting response… well done.


  2. STRONG. I love this.

  3. ReyMac Says:

    the description of a suspect as dark skinned without evidence hurt my heart… the assaults on people of color because the Post and CNN jumped to colored conclusions pissed me off…
    maybe dark men won’t always be the boogeyman…maybe… Love your “companion” poem! “I just spoke
    with the FBI
    and gave them
    your description.” Damn!

    • poetatete Says:

      Thank you ReyMac! Your poem inspired mine.
      I treasure your reaction.

      The same darkness of the heart that fuels
      racial hatred and divisiveness between
      peoples is at the root of terrorism.

      Cheryl


  4. Re: Boston: I could feel the emotions you must’ve felt when writing this. My favorite lines: “that intangible inner qualitythat travels beyond bones and blood”. Moving piece, Cheryl!


Leave a Reply

