NaPoWriMo Day 11

NaPoWriMo Badge

TANKA

My eyes are drawn to
Your chiseled musculature.
They inspect your arms.
I start my work and wonder:
Why did you take off your shirt?

by Cheryl Crockett

This is the Day 11 Challenge as it appears on napowrimo.net.

“…write a tanka. This, like the “American” cinquain, is a poem based on syllables, with the pattern being 5-7-5-7-7. They work best when those final two 7-syllable lines contain a sort of turn or surprise that the first three lines might not wholly anticipate. You can string a bunch of them together to make a multi-stanza poem, or just write one!

To get you going, here’s an anonymous example from the Japanese, translated by Kenneth Rexroth:

On Komochi Mountain,
from the time the young leaves sprout,
until they turn red,
I think I would like to sleep with you.
What do you think of that?

That one makes me laugh!”

Back to Cheryl’s NaPoWriMo 2013 Main Post

My daily haiku is below. I decided to post both poetic projects together.

Haiku #99

High narrow pathway
Railings keep me from fainting
Breath-taking view

by Cheryl Crockett

See Cheryl’s Everyday Haiku 2013

Explore posts in the same categories: NaPoWriMo, Poetry

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “NaPoWriMo Day 11”


  1. At first I read it as “when will you take of you shirt”. I’m wondering what that says about me 😉

    • poetatete Says:

      Yes! What does it say about you? All it says is that you misread my poem.
      Forgive yourself and keep-it-moving.

      Feel free to write your own “twist” on this poem (which I wrote with much trepidation because I do not usually write this way) I have will add my own edited version(s).
      It is OK to write from the mind or in the voice of another.


  2. I would’ve loved more. You gave us just a taste to whet our appetite!


Leave a Reply

