NaPoWriMo Day 10

NaPoWriMo Badge

GREETING CARD (A Spoken Word Piece)

I unfriended you today

Because you don’t call (back)
And I cannot remember
Our last face-to-face.

I unfriended you today
Bewildered,
Wondering what I did
Or didn’t do.

I think
I saw this coming
A year ago or two.

I have been carrying
Your part as well as mine
For so long,
I began
to feel
foolish.

That’s why
I unfriended you today.
I remembered thinking
It seemed so odd
sometimes
how you would walk behind me
Instead of beside me,
Even when my ankle was hurt
(I never got that).

I unfriended you today
Despite dozens of
Digitally designated “friends”
Who pay me less attention.

But we said we were friends.
That’s what distinguished you
from so many others
bestowed with that
meaningless honor
which you made
more meaningless
by your neglect.

Is it just me, or
do you remember?
We had lots in common:
faith, family, talents,
heartaches
and friendship.
How do I know?

I never saw you throw it away.
I never believed you could,
But the evidence compels me to act:

I had to unfriend you today.
But you probably won’t ever see this,
(until it goes viral)
and even then,
you probably won’t think this is about you.

I would tell you myself
But you don’t answer
and you don’t call (back).

I didn’t click my mouse.
That would make me an hypocrite:
All the others would have to go
And I don’t have that kind of time.
But make no mistake,

I unfriended you today
Every year, I remember your birthday
But when mine comes…
(Do I even have to say it?)

And I had to hear your big news fourth-hand.
Oh, Facebook is always fourth-hand.
Figure it out:
– First-hand – is when you tell me yourself
– Second-hand – your family member tells me.
– Third-hand – an un-related person gossips about it
because they want me to know that they
knew before I did and
Yeah,
That happened, too.

And I would have been so happy for you.
But you didn’t give me the chance.

So, I unfriended you today
And now I am free
The place I saved for you
In my heart
is vacant.

Ready for that new friend who will
Like or Love me
Tag, Tumbl, Tweet me
Retweet and remember
my birthday,
Comment and call me (back),
Post, Poke or Pin,
visit, sit and spend
some time.

So, just because my profile on-line looks the same
And my “friend” list still contains your name,
Don’t get it twisted.

I am dis-Pinterest-ed
and have Google subtracted you
from my life!

I UNFRIENDED YOU TODAY!

Happy Birthday.

by Cheryl Crockett

This is the Day 10 Challenge as it appears on napowrimo.net.

“Many of us have read and even written love poems. But have you written an un-love poem?

You Fit Into Me

You fit into me
like a hook into an eye

a fish hook
an open eye

–Margaret Atwood

An un-love poem isn’t a poem of hate, exactly — that might be a bit too shrill or boring. It’s more like a poem of sarcastic dislike. This is a good time to get in a good dig at people who chew with their mouth open, or always take the last oreo. If there’s no person you feel comfortable un-loving, maybe there’s a phenomenon? Like squirrels that eat your tomatoes. (I have many, many bitter feelings about tomato-eating squirrels). There’s lots of ways to go with this one, and lots of room for humor and surprise as well. Happy writing!”

Back to Cheryl’s NaPoWriMo 2013 Main Post

My daily haiku is below. I decided to post both poetic projects together.

Haiku #98

Cicadas so soon?
Give me all seventeen years
Or my money back!

by Cheryl Crockett

See Cheryl’s Everyday Haiku 2013

Explore posts in the same categories: NaPoWriMo, Poetry, Spoken Word

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “NaPoWriMo Day 10”


  1. Powerful, funny, up to date, emotional, poetic… brilliant!

  2. seekingmeme Says:

    I love your take on the un-love prompt! I really enjoyed the prompt, too, but the contemporary spin is nicely done.


  3. I definitely could relate to this poem. Some people just aren’t meant to stay in our lives, unfortunately. May you have loved ones in your life that show you in multiple ways.

    • poetatete Says:

      Absolutely! Most people, myself included, do not speak to the end of a friendship or acknowledge it. Somehow, we think a dead or dying friendship continues in a healthy way just because no one ended it.

  4. Beth Camp Says:

    I really liked this poem as well because it reveals exactly how this ‘friend’ failed to honor your relationship. The witty play on words and technology heightens what now truly defines friendship. Nicely done!


Leave a Reply

