NaPoWriMo Day 6

NaPoWriMo Badge

MY FINAL GOOD-BYE TO WINTER

Each day, I wonder if you’re gone.
Why are you still around?
I thought you took off weeks ago
But you are still in town.

One day I woke up with a smile
I drempt that you were dead.
Once I know that you’re gone for good
I think we’ll be all set.

You can’t come back ‘til after fall.
That’s when snow bunnies cheer.
Make no mistake, I love the Spring.
I never want you here.

Tomorrow morning, when I wake
I’d better hear a song.
The birds beyond my window will
Confirm that you are gone.

Your valediction you must take
I open my champagne.
No! You may not have a glass.
And you cannot complain.

Let me have Spring and Summer fun
And let my garden grow.
Winter must stop coming back.
Right now, you have to go!

by Cheryl Crockett

This is the Day 6 Challenge as it appears on napowrimo.net.

“… I challenge you to write a valediction. This is a poem of farewell. Perhaps the most famous one is John Donne’s A Valediction Forbidding Mourning, which turns the act of saying good-bye into a very tender love poem. But your poem could say “good-bye” (and maybe good riddance!) to anything or anyone. A good-bye to winter might be in order, for example. Or good-bye to the week-old easter eggs in your refrigerator. Light or serious, long or short, it’s up to you!”

Back to Cheryl’s NaPoWriMo 2013 Main Post

My daily haiku is below. Although my haiku are not related to my NaPoWriMo poem, on any given day, today, they appear to be.

Haiku #94

I told you Good-bye!
Why are you not gone by now?
Winter, LEAVE TODAY!

by Cheryl Crockett

See Cheryl’s Everyday Haiku 2013

Explore posts in the same categories: NaPoWriMo, Poetry

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

